Events Calendar

graphic asset

September 2014

Previous Month Next Month
Fri., Aug. 29, 2014 – Sun., Sep. 21, 2014
Main and Concourse Galleries
The Wondrous, the Monstrous, and the Human: 2014 MCAD Faculty Biennial

Witness the sights, sounds, objects, and experiences that MCAD faculty conjure in their studios as well as in their classrooms.

Tue., Sep. 2, 2014
6:30 p.m.
MCAD Main Building
Tuesday at MCAD: Prospective Transfer and Adult Student Informational Event 9/2

Information session for prospective students interested in the BFA and BSc undergraduate degree programs at MCAD.

Fri., Sep. 5, 2014 – Sun., Sep. 7, 2014
Whittier Gallery (2840 Grand Ave., Minneapolis)
Chrysalis Stage: Fall 2014 MFA Exhibition

This show features work by current MCAD graduate students and recent alumni.

Sun., Sep. 7, 2014
6:00 p.m.
MCAD Auditorium
Film Screening: Disruption

This film weaves together political intrigue, mind-blowing science, and an insider's view of the largest climate mobilization in history.

Mon., Sep. 15, 2014
1:00 p.m.
Auditorium 150
Visiting-Artist Lecture: Vanessa Renwick

An artist by nature, not by stress of research, Vanessa Renwick puts scholars to rout by solving through nature's teaching problems that have fretted their trained minds.

Wed., Sep. 17, 2014
1:00 p.m.
Auditorium 150
Visiting-Artist Lecture: Do Ho Suh

Do Ho Suh is an internationally renowned Korean artist whose work questions boundaries of identity and conventional notions of scale and space.

Sat., Sep. 20, 2014
2:00 p.m.
MCAD Main Building
Experience MCAD Day 9/20

This information event is for prospective students interested in the BFA or BSc degree programs at MCAD.

Mon., Sep. 22, 2014 – Mon., Oct. 6, 2014
1st floor, outside Auditorium 150
Eron Rauch: Japonisme

A selection of photographs and sculptures by Los Angeles-based artist Eron Rauch.

Tue., Sep. 23, 2014
1:00 p.m.
Auditorium 150
Visiting-Artist Lecture: Nicholas Hanna

Nicholas Hanna investigates the sensation of wonder and the essential relationship between humans and technology.

Thu., Sep. 25, 2014
1:00 p.m.
Auditorium 150
Fri., Sep. 26, 2014 – Sun., Sep. 28, 2014
MCAD
Mechademia: Conference on Asian Popular Cultures 2014

Explore the global innovations and creative and cultural implications of Japanese anime and manga.

Fri., Sep. 26, 2014
7:00 p.m.
Main Gallery
Full Fashion Panic: Mechademia Fashion Show 2014

Featuring an array of notable fashion designers from around the country inspired by cosplay, manga, and anime.

Syndicate content